Author Topic: Gravity flow furnaces  (Read 6423 times)

Ben Stallings

• Super Auditor
    • Green Door Kansas
Gravity flow furnaces
« on: October 07, 2010, 08:11:07 AM »
In a few weeks I'm taking a recertification test from Efficiency Kansas, and they're letting me choose the house I walk through.  I chose a neighbor's house which, among other quirks, has the original 1930 gravity-flow furnace.  I've never worked with one of these beasts before and don't really know what I'm getting into.  I plan to look it over before the test, but I'm not even sure what to look for.  Are there any gotchas peculiar to these furnaces that I should be on the lookout for, so that I can wow the examiner with my arcane knowledge? :-)

Bud9051

• Global Moderator
  • Super Auditor
  • Good Day or Bad Day, It's a Choice
Re: Gravity flow furnaces
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2010, 08:36:06 AM »
Depends upon how old the examiner is, he may have cut his teeth on those old beasts :)

I'll be watching to see what the HVAC folks say, although it sounds like an automatic candidate for replacement.  The test could be interesting.

Bud

Sometimes a good question is as valuable as a good answer!

stnick

• Super Auditor
    • Efficient Energy Savers
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2010, 03:41:51 PM »
Ben,

Gravity Flow, originally coal fired furnace.  Probably converted to gas in the 1960s when gas was piped into towns across Kansas.

The principle is heat rises.  So the original thermostat did not require electricity. It just opened and closed dampers.

Large ducts in the basement to the 1st floor.  Many times you will see the supply hit a wall and a register on each side.  Sometimes a wall cavity to second floor.  Sometimes just a supply grill in the ceiling and another directly above it on the floor of the 2nd story.  Balloon framing.  Where does the heat go?